Even though there are no early photos, it’s obvious the porch on the front of the school building and the tin roof were added much later.
The stone chimney is probably the oldest remaining original part of the Latty house that became the school.
In 2005 Gwen Martin Draper, great granddaughter of Isaac King, sat in his schoolhouse for the first time after hearing throughout her childhood of her grandmother’s experiences in the building over 100 years earlier.
The old school chair found in the nearby woods is testament to the use of the building as a school as late as the 1960s.
The old Milton piano left on the porch was probably used in the school during the 1900’s and later replaced when the building became a revival hall, but Miltons were only built between 1892 and 1907, during part of the time Isaac taught there.
The back of the building is probably no different than it was when it was built. It still has the original vent used by the stove that sat in the center of Isaac’s school room.